Google Ads is worth it for a med spa when the cost of a click, divided by the share of clicks that become consults that are booked, kept and treated, lands under the value of a first treatment plus what that patient comes back for. Every other question about paid search is downstream of that division.
The one number that answers this: cost per treated patient
Cost per treated patient decides whether paid search pays, not cost per click and not cost per lead. Four rates sit between a click and revenue: click to inquiry, inquiry to booked consult, booked to kept, kept to treated. Multiply the four, then divide the click cost by the product.
A click cost you can live with becomes an acquisition cost you cannot the moment one of the four rates halves, and the rate that halves is usually not the ad's. All four already exist in your own systems, which is why no published benchmark can answer this for you.
| The number | Where it comes from | What it does to the answer |
|---|---|---|
| Cost per click | Your account, by campaign and keyword | Sets the price of the top of the funnel, and it is re-set at every auction |
| Click to inquiry | Conversion tracking on form, call and chat starts | The first and usually the largest drop; a slow or vague treatment page shows up here |
| Inquiry to booked consult | Your booking system or CRM, counted from the inquiry timestamp | Where after-hours and weekend inquiries die; response time is the lever |
| Booked to kept consult | Your calendar: kept appointments over booked ones | No-shows burn spend that is already paid; reminders and confirmations are the lever |
| Kept to treated, and first-visit value | Your practice management reporting | Turns consults into the revenue a click has to earn back |
| Repeat revenue per patient | Twelve months of patient history | Decides whether a break-even first visit is still a win |
For orientation only: Growth99's 2026 State of Aesthetic and Elective Wellness Marketing Report, published by AmSpa in January 2026, puts the average med spa cost per lead at $39, new-patient acquisition at $132 and average visit value at $527, and says 73% of revenue comes from repeat patients. Those are cross-channel averages, the report does not state its survey size or method, and none of it is a target for your account.
Why no article can tell you your cost per click
Published cost-per-click figures for med spa keywords cannot apply to a specific practice, because Google prices each auction separately. Google's Ad Rank documentation lists the bid, the quality of the ad and landing page, Ad Rank thresholds, the competitiveness of the auction, the context of the search and the expected impact of assets among the inputs, as of September 2026.
Google's documentation also corrects a piece of folklore common in med spa ad advice: Quality Score is not an input in the ad auction. Google describes it as a diagnostic tool built from expected clickthrough rate, ad relevance and landing page experience. Improving those three is worth doing; "raise Quality Score to lower CPC" is not the mechanism.
So the only credible cost per click is the one your account produces after a few weeks on the keywords you actually want, and the only credible competitive picture is that account's Auction Insights report, which names the advertisers you share impressions with in your radius.
Which keywords a med spa is actually buying
Med spa search terms fall into four tiers that behave differently enough to belong in separate campaigns. Mixing them is the most common reason a med spa account looks unprofitable in aggregate while one tier inside it is quietly working, and separating them costs nothing but campaign structure.
- 1Treatment plus local intent ("lip filler consultation charlotte"): the tier that books. It is also the contested one, and Auction Insights, not a blog, tells you who you are contesting it with.
- 2Prescription brand names: restricted as keywords under Google's healthcare policies. See the next section before planning a campaign around one.
- 3Problem and question terms ("how to soften forehead lines"): further from booking, and they need their own campaign so their numbers never hide inside the treatment campaign's.
- 4Category terms ("med spa near me"): the broadest tier, where a click can arrive from someone comparing ten providers. Worth exactly what your kept-consult rate can carry.
Affordability is a property of your four rates, not of the keyword: a term at twice the click price is cheaper than the category term if it converts at three times the rate.
The policy layer that decides whether a keyword is biddable
Google's Healthcare and medicines policies restrict prescription drug terms across ads, landing pages and keywords, as of September 2026. According to Google's Restricted drug terms policy, certification is not required to use those terms in ads and landing pages, but it is required to keyword-target them, and the healthcare certifications Google names are tied to business types like online pharmacies, telemedicine providers and pharmaceutical manufacturers.
A med spa is none of those business types, so a plan built on bidding for a neuromodulator or GLP-1 brand name is the one most likely to stall in policy review. Confirm eligibility in your policy manager first, and treat the treatment name and the consult - the words a patient uses before they know the brand - as the durable keyword set.
Google's policy only decides whether the ad serves. The FTC's health advertising standards and the North Carolina Medical Board's expectations decide whether it is lawful; an approved ad is not a cleared one.
The map pack is no longer the free alternative it was
Ranking in the local pack does not make paid search redundant, and it never made it free. Google's own Business Profile guidance says local results are mainly based on relevance, distance and prominence, and states plainly: "There's no way to request or pay for a better local ranking on Google." Prominence is earned, over months.
What changed is what sits above that earned position. Sterling Sky's June 2026 State of Local SEO reports local pack ads on almost 22% of the mobile ranking reports it tracked by December 2025, up from about 1% at the start of that year, and Local Services Ads rising from roughly 11% to 31% of its tracked queries. That is one agency's keyword set, not a census, but the direction is the point: the three-pack increasingly sits under ads.
The decision that follows is not ads-or-profile. A complete, well-reviewed profile lowers the price of everything paid search does, because the same searcher checks it before calling.
Local Services Ads: what Google's category list says about med spas
Local Services Ads, the pay-per-lead format that sits above search results, has no "med spa" category. Google's US category list does include Facial Spa, Hair Removal Service, Dermatologist, Plastic surgeon and Weight loss service, and its screening page marks the Beauty group "(currently available in California and Florida only)", as of September 2026.
For a North Carolina practice, the pay-per-lead route depends entirely on which category your services map to in Google's eligibility checker, and a Beauty classification is out of scope in this state. Google's notes add that booking leads and pre-badge ads are unavailable for health care verticals, and the Verified badge is unavailable for beauty categories.
Check eligibility before spending a planning cycle on it. If the answer is no, Search campaigns are the paid Google surface you have, which puts the decision back on the arithmetic above.
What this looks like when it runs
A paid search program that pays for itself is four systems, one of which is the ad account. The campaign buys the click; a treatment page answers the question the search asked; a booking system offers real availability at the moment of intent; and the follow-up layer covers the inquiry that arrives at nine on a Saturday night.
Mirastart builds that second half: booking systems that calculate genuine availability and confirm automatically, missed-call and after-hours response so an inquiry is answered in minutes rather than Monday, reminder sequences that protect the kept-consult rate, and reporting that carries the outcome back into the ad account so optimization targets treated patients instead of form fills. Those systems run in production for Charlotte businesses today, and the mechanics carry over to a spa's consult calendar without modification.
That is also the test of whether to start at all: if the four rates are unknown or the last two are weak, paid search buys more of a problem you already have.
Sources
- Google Ads Help: About Ad Rank - Ad Rank is calculated per auction from the bid, ad and landing page quality, Ad Rank thresholds, auction competitiveness, search context and expected asset impact. As of September 2026.
- Google Ads Help: About Quality Score for Search campaigns - Quality Score is a diagnostic tool, not an input in the ad auction; its three components are expected clickthrough rate, ad relevance and landing page experience.
- Google Advertising Policies Help: Restricted drug terms - Prescription drug terms are restricted in ads, landing pages and keywords; certification is required to keyword-target them.
- Google Advertising Policies Help: Healthcare and medicines - Some healthcare content cannot be advertised at all; other categories are limited to advertisers who have applied and been approved, with certification types including Online Pharmacy, Telemedicine, Health Insurance and Pharmaceutical manufacturer.
- Google Business Profile Help: Tips to improve your local ranking on Google - Local results are mainly based on relevance, distance and prominence, and the quoted line that there is no way to request or pay for a better local ranking.
- Google Local Services Help: Getting started with Local Services Ads (United States) - The eligible category list - which includes Facial Spa, Hair Removal Service, Dermatologist, Plastic surgeon and Weight loss service, and no med spa category - plus the notes that booking leads and pre-badge ads are unavailable for health care verticals and the Verified badge is unavailable for beauty categories.
- Google Local Services Help: Business screening and verification requirements (United States) - The quoted line marking the Beauty group as currently available in California and Florida only, and the requirement for a public, verified Business Profile.
- Sterling Sky, The State of Local SEO in 2026 (June 26, 2026) - Local pack ads on almost 22% of the agency's tracked mobile reports by December 2025, up from 1% at the start of 2025; Local Services Ads from roughly 11% to 31% of tracked queries. Sterling Sky's own keyword set, not an industry census.
- American Med Spa Association, The Marketing Investment Gap (January 9, 2026) - Growth99's 2026 report, published by AmSpa: average cost per lead $39, new-patient acquisition $132, average visit value $527, 73% of revenue from repeat patients, and 52% of practices spending under $2,500 a month. Survey size and method are not stated.
- American Med Spa Association, How Much Should I Spend on Med Spa Marketing? (May 2, 2025) - AmSpa's 2024 Medical Spa State of the Industry Report: the average med spa invests about 7% of revenue in marketing, within a 2%-15% range.