A med spa intro offer is a first-visit price built to buy a repeat client, not a transaction. It works when the discount, counted as acquisition cost, is earned back by what that client returns for. It fails structurally when it discounts a per-unit price the client will now expect at every visit afterwards.
The discount is an acquisition cost, so price it like one
An intro offer's discount is customer acquisition cost and belongs in the same column as the ad spend that produced the visit, not in a separate one called promotion. The number that decides the offer is those two added together, measured against the first visit's margin plus what that client comes back for.
For orientation only: Growth99's 2026 report, published by AmSpa in January 2026, puts the average med spa's new-patient acquisition at $132 against an average visit value of $527, and says 73% of revenue comes from repeat patients. Those are cross-channel averages, the report does not state its survey size or method, and the only numbers that decide your offer are your own.
Run it as one subtraction: offer price, minus cost of goods and provider time, minus the advertising it took to fill the chair. If what is left is negative — and for a genuine intro offer it usually is — the offer is a bet on the second visit, and rebooking rate settles it.
Why discounting a unit price is not the same as discounting a visit
Discounting a per-unit price — dollars per unit of neuromodulator, per syringe, per session — resets the reference price a client carries into every future visit, because the unit is comparable, repeatable and quoted across the whole market. Discounting a bundled first visit does not, because the next visit has nothing to be compared against.
The difference shows up at the second appointment, where the front desk quotes the standing price and the client remembers the intro one. A per-unit discount makes staff defend what the client experiences as a penalty for coming back. A credit, a bundle or an added service leaves the standing price untouched.
A published per-unit promotion is also visible to the regular who paid full price last month, and the honest way to run one is to extend it to them too. Count that cost before publishing rather than after the first phone call.
What the published research says about deal-sourced clients
Evidence on deep-discount promotions is mixed rather than damning. A 2014 Marketing Letters study of Groupon promotions found some businesses profited while others regretted the promotion, reporting lower spending and lower return rates from deal users. The price-promotion research it sits alongside associates promotions with negative long-term effects in repeat-purchase categories.
Mixed is the useful finding, because it moves the question off the discount and onto selection. An offer competing only on price admits the buyer for whom price decides, and that buyer belongs to whichever practice runs a deeper one next. An offer requiring a consultation filters differently at the same discount.
Five offer structures and what each one selects for
Offer structures differ less in what they cost than in which client they attract and what they do to your standing prices. The five below are the ones a med spa realistically chooses between, with the behaviour each selects for and the rule governing how it is advertised. The last column is the pre-publication check.
| Structure | What it selects for | What it costs beyond the discount | The rule to check first |
|---|---|---|---|
| Percentage off a published per-unit price | Price-led buyers; the widest reach | Resets the reference price for every later visit | Deceptive-pricing guides: the comparison price must be real |
| Fixed dollar credit toward a first treatment | Clients choosing a treatment, not a price | Little; the standing price is never restated | State terms and expiry at the outset |
| Bundled first visit (consult plus take-home) | Clients who want a plan; easiest to rebook | Provider and front-desk time, the binding constraint | Stated bundle value must match what the parts sell for |
| "Free" add-on with a paid treatment | Clients already close to booking the paid service | The paid service cannot be discounted meanwhile | 16 CFR Part 251: regular price holds; conditions up front |
| Membership or first month at a set price | Clients with a treatment interval: best retention | Fulfilment obligations outlasting the promotion | Regulation Z if it names a monthly payment |
The rules that decide how the offer can be stated
Four rulebooks constrain a med spa's intro offer before marketing does: the FTC's guide on the word "free", its guides against deceptive pricing, Regulation Z when the offer names a payment, and the ad policy of whichever platform carries it. All four govern how the offer is stated rather than how generous it is, as of September 2026.
Comparison pricing is the first trap. The FTC's Guides Against Deceptive Pricing treat a former price as legitimate only when it was offered openly and in good faith for a reasonably substantial period, and warn that an advertiser "should scrupulously avoid any implication that a former price is a selling, not an asking price […] unless substantial sales at that price were actually made". A menu price nobody has paid is not a strikethrough you own.
"Free" is the second. Under the FTC's guide on the word, a free offer rests on a regular price for whatever must be bought to get it — the price at which it was openly and actively sold for a reasonably substantial period, defined there as 30 days — and every condition on receiving and keeping the free item is disclosed clearly at the outset, not in a footnote.
Financing is the third. Regulation Z's advertising rules say an ad may state only credit terms actually available, that a rate is stated as an annual percentage rate using that term, and that naming a downpayment, a number of payments, a payment amount or a finance charge triggers further disclosures. A "$99 a month" headline is a triggering term.
Then the platform. Meta's Health and Wellness advertising standards require cosmetic procedure ads to target people 18 or older, prohibit statements of inferiority about physical appearance, and prohibit promises of specific outcomes within a set timeframe without disclaimers or qualifiers, as of its July 2026 revision. That last rule is where offer copy usually fails review.
The constraint an offer breaks first is the schedule
An intro offer's binding constraint is capacity and supervision, not budget. In North Carolina, the Medical Board's position statement on laser surgery says laser hair and tattoo removal should be performed by a physician or by an individual designated as adequately trained by a physician who bears full responsibility, with each patient examined before the first treatment.
A promotion that fills four weeks of laser slots does not relax any of that; it multiplies it. Across the menu, an offer redeemed by more people than the schedule holds produces long waits, then the no-shows and unrebooked second visits that cost more than the discount did. Cap redemptions rather than dates.
What this looks like when it runs
An intro offer that pays is four systems, only one of which is the offer. The ad or profile carries it; a booking system shows real availability at the moment someone decides; a reminder sequence protects an appointment already paid for in discount; and a follow-up at the treatment interval turns a first visit into the second one the arithmetic needs.
Mirastart builds that second half: booking systems that calculate genuine availability and confirm automatically, missed-call and after-hours response so an offer enquiry is answered in minutes rather than Monday, follow-up tied to the treatment interval rather than the calendar month, and reporting that shows rebooking and repeat revenue per offer instead of redemptions alone. Those systems run in production for Charlotte businesses today, and carry to a spa's consult calendar without modification.
Sources
- 16 CFR Part 233 - Guides Against Deceptive Pricing (Federal Trade Commission) - Former price comparisons are legitimate only where the former price was offered openly and in good faith for a reasonably substantial period; the quoted warning against implying a former price was a selling rather than an asking price is from § 233.1.
- 16 CFR Part 251 - Guide Concerning Use of the Word "Free" and Similar Representations (Federal Trade Commission) - "Regular" price means the price at which the seller openly and actively sold the item for a reasonably substantial period, i.e. 30 days; all terms and conditions of a free offer must be set out clearly and conspicuously at the outset.
- 12 CFR § 1026.24 - Advertising (Regulation Z, Truth in Lending) - Only actually available credit terms may be stated; a rate is stated as an annual percentage rate using that term; a downpayment, number of payments, payment amount or finance charge is a triggering term requiring additional disclosures. Cornell LII mirror of the eCFR.
- Meta Advertising Standards: Health and Wellness - Cosmetic product, procedure and surgery ads must target people 18 or older; statements of inferiority about physical appearance and promises of specific outcomes within a set timeframe without disclaimers or qualifiers are prohibited. Change log revision dated July 23, 2026.
- NC Medical Board Position Statement 5.1.2: Laser Surgery - Laser hair and tattoo removal should be performed by a physician or by an individual designated as having adequate training by a physician who bears full responsibility; each patient should be examined before the first treatment. Amended May 2021.
- To Groupon or not to Groupon: the profitability of deep discounts (Marketing Letters, 2014) - Mixed results across businesses running Groupon promotions - some profitable, others regretted, citing lower spending and lower return rates from deal users.
- The impact of different price promotions on customer retention (ScienceDirect) - Cited for the price-promotion literature's association between promotions and negative long-term effects in repeat-purchase settings.
- American Med Spa Association, The Marketing Investment Gap (January 9, 2026) - Growth99's 2026 report, published by AmSpa: average cost per lead $39, new-patient acquisition $132, average visit value $527, and 73% of revenue from repeat patients. Survey size and method are not stated.